Summer Camp 2019

Thu, July 25 2019, 11:00 AM - Fri, July 26 2019, 4:00 PM [MST]

Club Tico & CSU, Fort Collins, Colorado, 80523, United States


1. Select Seats

2. Review and Proceed

Sale ended

Sleep Away Camp - CCCMA Members Partial Approval - $85.00

Complete program!

sales ended

Sleep Away Camp - Future Members Partial Approval - $100.00

This registration includes CCCMA membership for the remainder of 2019.

Sale ended

Sleep Away Camp - Private Sector Partial Approval - $150.00

contact for sponsorship information

sales ended

Day Camp - Day 1, Thursday Partial Approval - $40.00

The XYZ Factor

Sale ended

Day Camp - Day 2, Friday Partial Approval - $40.00

Ron Carlee Workshop

Enter your discount code

  • Subtotal (excluding fees and discounts)
  • Fee
  • Total amount

Event Information

Thu, July 25 2019, 11:00 AM - Fri, July 26 2019, 4:00 PM [MST]

About the Event

The Emerging Managers Summit is back! Join us for Summer Camp in Fort Collins.



Stay the night in the CSU dorms! Details at


Cancellation policy

We'd prefer that you transfer your registration to a colleague. Cancellations will be accepted through July 15, minus a $5 processing fee.

About the Organizer

CCCMA Emerging Managers are local government professionals who are committed to developing leaders prepared to succeed in city and county management positions in Colorado.


Event Speakers

Dr. Donald Klingner
School of Public Affairs - Colorado Springs

Dr. Donald Klingner is Distinguished Professor of Public Administration in the School of Public Affairs at the University of Colorado Colorado Springs. He is author or co-author of 16 books including Public Personnel Management and as Editor-at-Large for Public Integrity, he is currently engaged in a multi-year bimonthly series on “The State of the Republic.”
Ron Carlee, D.P.A
Old Dominion University and Leaders2C

Dr. Carlee is a full-time faculty member at Old Dominion University
His teaching and training is informed by his executive experiences as City Manager in Charlotte, North Carolina, Chief Operating Officer for the International City/County Management Association (ICMA), and as County Manager for Arlington, Virginia.

Murphy Robinson
Deputy Mayor, City and County of Denver

Murphy Robinson serves as the Executive Director of the General Services Department and also serves as the Deputy Mayor of the City and County of Denver. He is responsible for the property management and maintenance of over 6 million square feet of building space in 135 facilities and oversees the purchasing and procurement division which purchases over 600 million dollars of goods and services annually. Additionally, Murphy directs the Denver Contracts Office, Denver Security Office, Energy Office and serves as a cabinet member to the Denver Mayor. Murphy’s past roles include Chief of Staff and Deputy City Manager for the City of Englewood and Assistant City Manager of General Services for the City of Brighton. Murphy also served as the founder and president of Robinson Corporations, a successful security and executive protection firm in Cincinnati, Ohio. A Denver native, Murphy enjoys spending time with his wife and daughter and is active in multiple community organizations including the Colorado Rangers and the I Love You Guys Foundation.

Darin Atteberry
City Manager, City of Fort Collins

Darin Atteberry is the City Manager for the City of Fort Collins, Colorado, a position he has held since December 2004. As City Manager, Darin has led the City government through a time of transformational change, moving the organization from a "trust us" model to one that uses a data-driven, performance based approach. Darin is an advocate for community collaboration and has built strong relationships with both public and private sector partners. He serves as Vice Chair of the Alliance for Innovation and is a member of the Center for Public Safety Excellence Board of Directors. In 2013, Darin was named Entrepreneur of the Year by the Colorado State University College of Business. In 2016 he was elected as a Fellow with the National Academy of Public Administration. Recently, Darin received the Colorado Governor’s Citizenship medal, recognizing him as a leader who serves the public with innovation, operational excellence and progressive vision. Prior to coming to Fort Collins, Darin worked with cities in California, Washington, and Georgia. He attended Harvard University’s Senior Executive Program in State and Local Government. He holds a Master of Science in Civil Engineering and Master of City Planning at Georgia Institute of Technology. He received a Bachelor of Science in City and Regional Planning from California Polytechnic State University.

Mark Deven
City Manager, City of Arvada

Heather Geyer
City Manager, City of Northglenn

Heather Geyer was appointed City Manager for the City of Northglenn in July 2018 and began her service to the City in late August 2018. She is serving as the City’s first female City Manager. She resides in Northglenn. Geyer serves as a Mountain Plains Regional Vice President on the International City-County Management Association (ICMA) Executive Board of Directors. She is a founding member of Colorado Women Leading Government, a group dedicated to advancing the role of women in local government. Prior to Northglenn, Heather served as Administrative Services Director for the City of Wheat Ridge from June 2010 to August 2018. She served in this capacity on an interim basis from June 2010 to December 2010. As Director, she oversaw the internal support services department committed to providing excellent service to internal and external customers. Geyer earned a bachelor’s degree in Political Science and Public Policy from University of Denver and a Masters of Arts in Political Science with an Emphasis in Public Policy from the University of Colorado at Denver. She is a graduate of the Senior Executive Institute (SEI), the Leadership ICMA Class of 2015 and an ICMA Credentialed Manager Candidate. She has received numerous national and state awards for organizational development, budget development and communications. Heather keeps work life balance through running, yoga, golf, hiking, traveling and spending time with her family.

Trenten is a second-year M.A. student. He received his undergraduate degree in Political Science at Colorado State University in the Spring of 2017, where he completed an Honors Thesis in preparation for graduate school. His research interests are focused in local public administration, town management, and civic engagement. He served as the program coordinator for the City of Fort Collins in 2018, where he managed a nationally-recognized engagement program focused on sustainability and collaboration. He loves baseball, dogs, and Colorado (not always in that order)."

Jeff Schreier
Town Administrator, Town of Eaton

Kelly Houghteling

Jessica Humphries

Krystal Eucker

Pam Davis

Sarah Moss

Laura Savage

Jeffrey DeHerrera

Jennifer Pearson

Travis Elliott

Georgia Roberts

Dawanta Parks

Ashley Brasovan

Tamara Moon

Kirsten Silveira

Michael Jenner

Jessica Prosser

Samuel Houghteling

Travis Machalek

Chrissy Stapleford

Steve Ruger

Melonie Matarozzo

Charise Canales

Alex Mansfield

Claire Turney

Cody Forst

Claire Turney

Cody Forst

Skyler Beck

Jeff Schreier

Susan Barkman

Abby Fitch

Austin Good

Shane Hale

Alyssa Dinberg

Bill Shrum

Summer Nettles

Tyler Marr

Emily Katsimpalis

Jennnifer Reichelt

Jennnifer Reichelt

Chris Fabian

Brandon Gumm

Josh Boehm

Liesel Hans

Angelica Wedell

Michelle Kobayashi

Jennifer Hoffman

Martin McCoy

Shannon Vassen

Tim Gagen

Trenten Robinson

Alisha Janes

Lee Merkel

Jonathan Cain

Braden Ward

Kathleen Sickles

Kathleen Sickles

Arielle Hodgson

Kathryn Mortensen

Basil Hamdan

Kim Newcomer

Ryan Burke

Rachel Rogers

Stephanie Blochowiak